How rising early is simpler than you think !

Esha Mehta
3 min readJan 11, 2024

--

Photo by Ravi Sharma on Unsplash

Waking up early often feels like a tough challenge, especially if you’re not a natural early bird. However, becoming an early riser is more achievable than most people think. Also, it’s important to know that it’s the choice of every human being when to sleep and when to get up because everybody’s productive hours are different. This variation is partly due to genetic factors and circadian rhythms which regulate our sleep-wake cycles. Circadian rhythms are the physical, mental, and behavioral changes an organism experiences over a 24-hour cycle. Also, lifestyle, habits, and environmental factors can also play a role in determining when someone is most productive.

But if you’re someone who doesn’t follow a good sleep cycle and morning routines and you’re not productive at night too then this blog is for you.

I’ll be telling you benefits and strategies of waking up early as I’m myself on the early risers club. I wake up at 5 AM everyday. It has been beneficial for me and my perfect sleep routine as I sleep for 5–6 hours and that works well enough for my body. Due to my consistent sleep schedule, my body has adapted to waking up early. The quite hours of morning are good for focused work without any distractions. And you can do this too by following these practical strategies:

1. Manage your sleep cycle-

If you’re the one who sleeps at different timings, please don’t do it. Set a regular bedtime and stick to it, even on weekends. You can activate the bedtime mode in your smartphone too.

2. Create a calming sleep routine:

Develop a calming routine to signal your body that it’s time to wind down. This includes activities like reading, gentle streching or listening to calming music before sleeping.

P.S. Not me sleeping like a baby as soon as I enter in my bed 😆

3. Lifestyle choices:

Avoid caffeine and electronic devices at least an hour before bedtime as they can lead to disrupted sleep patterns.

4. Consistent Wake Time:

Set a consistent wake-up time because this helps regulate your body’s internal clock. Then only your body will be able to adapt a proper pattern.

5.Manage Stress:

Practice relaxation techniques like deep breathing or meditation to manage stress, especially before bedtime. I’ve been doing it regularly now and it’s calming my mind.

6. Role of Discipline:

I can’t stress enough on how important discipline is for waking up early. This requires consistency in going to bed and waking up at the right time. This disciplined approach helps in adjusting your body’s internal clock which makes early rising more natural.

You know the thing that inspires me most about waking up early is the feeling that your day is planned and half of your work is done while others are still sleeping.

Yes, waking up early might seem a daunting task but with the right approach and mindset, it’s much more simpler than you think. It just needs consistency and discipline from your side. By making small changes in your routines, you’ll soon find yourself embracing the early hours with enjoyment.

--

--

Esha Mehta

Writing about everything I feel, mostly about the good stuff in my life ;⁠)